Socktoberfest!

When did you start making socks? Did you teach yourself or were you taught by a friend or relative? or in a class?

I made my first pair of socks almost two years ago.  Up until that point, I thought they seemed like very fiddly things to make and I wasn’t having any of it. But I found a Learn to Knit Socks book at the craft store one day and jumped right into the process. I was immediately hooked.

It’s a REALLY great book for learning the basics and I highly recommend it if you are easily intimidated by the prospect of turning a heel.

What was your first pair? How have they “held up” over time?

My first pair was the basic sock from the Learn to Knit Socks book. I made it from the DMC Crochet Cotton, in a lovely greenish color. It was also my first time knitting with cotton. I made them on size 3 metal DPNs. They’ve held up really well. I still wear them. I still love them.

Of course, the first pair I ATTEMPTED…. That’s a different story. A friend and I decided we both wanted to give it a shot, so I bought some DPNs and we used a pattern her mother had written down for us. I knitted on that sock while waiting in line to see Revenge of the Sith. It was my Darth Sock. It was also acrylic, and maybe standing in line and looking at people’s costumes and answering Star Wars trivia questions are not the best activities to do at the same time as trying to learn to knit in the round and turn a heel.

What would you have done differently?

I think my first socks were a pretty ideal first sock experience!

What yarns have you particularly enjoyed?

I’ve worked my Sock Wars socks in a DK-weight merino that I got from someone on Etsy on then dyed myself. It’s…. It’s like butter.  So, yeah.

And the Lisa Souza Sock! and Sock! Merino.

And the superwash merino from Over the Rainbow Yarns on ebay. I love that stuff.
Do you like to crochet your socks? or knit them on DPNs, 2 circulars, or using the Magic Loop method?

The fabric that results from crochet is a little too knotty-feeling on the bottoms of my feet. Knit is a little smoother. And I am all the about the DPNs, baby. Metal DPNs so the yarn slides all over the place. I knit tightly, so I need that.How many pairs have you made?

You know, I have no idea. 12+, I think.

Leave a Reply

