Lisa Souza Sock! Yarn

So, I listen to this great podcast, Lime & Violet. It’s a lot of fun and I like the people involved. So when they announced that they had partnered with Lisa Souza to produce a Lime & Violet colorway, I ordered it. They split the proceeds, which means I wind up supporting not just a small fiber business owner but the people who produce something (the podcast) which I greatly enjoy.

Lisa Souza has AWESOME customer service. I totally have to put that out there. I’ve bought a lot of yarn online and this was by far the best experience. Lots of personal communication and I came away with the feeling that if there was any problem she would do her personal best to fix it.

I had my skein of the Lime & Violet colorway delivered to my work address and it arrived yesterday. There was definitely muted (I am in a cubicle) squeeing.

I played with it throughout the day. When I got home, I handwound it into a ball, which took FOREVER because 450 yards (for $14) is a lot. *grin*

Then, I started knitting. Good times.

The wrapper suggests needles sized 1-2. I had 0s handy, so I swatched with those, just to see. Keep in mind, I’m something of a tight knitter with sock yarn, so your results might vary. The fabric that resulted from the 0s was VERY dense and a little stiff. The yarn is soft but not so soft as to overcome too-tightly-knitted fabric.

I ripped that out. Swatched with 1s. Much better. Good stitch definition and a pleasing fabric that was dense without being stiff.

So, I cast on for a pair of socks.

I have fat legs, so I cast on 80 stitches. I did the Latvian Twist edging and then started to work some ribbing.

That is when my problems began.

This is GREAT yarn, don’t get me wrong. But I don’t think it’s a good yarn for socks on small needles with large stitch counts. Not for me anyway. The yarn is NOT striping. The color repeats are way too short for that, unless you’re working on 1s or 0s over a very small number of stitches.

What happens is that the two different sets of colors split and you get half a sock in lime and violet and the other half of the sock just in the party in the middle. *grin*

This picture sort of shows what I’m talking about:

It’s not pleasing.

I wound up ripping all of that back and starting over. Fewer stiches, same needles. Same result.

I fussed around for a while and found that 64 stitches on size 2s will give me the size I need.

The fabric is a little loose, so I would not recommend size 2s for anyone who knits in a loose or relaxed fashion. I THINK I’m going to be okay, but I’m still a little worried. But the randomness of the colorway is really showing off nicely.

This is 64 stitches on size 2s:

So. Much. Better.

Overall, this is not the softest superwash with which I have ever knit (the Sock! Merino is probably softer). But the colors and the stitch definition are awesome. And it held up to repeated swatching and frogging REALLY well, so I have high hopes for how these socks are going to wear. I will definitely buy more yarn from Lisa Souza.

3 Responses to “Lisa Souza Sock! Yarn”

  1. Rainy Says:

    I am a huge Lisa Souza fan. I’ve got a skein of Sock! in Wild Thing and another in a bright red that is destined for a red peddler type shawl. I gotta say that I would not use the Sock! yarn for actual socks, simply because I prefer a thicker sock yarn. However, I really think it kicks arse for lace patterns or for anything else calling for a lighter fingering weight yarn. I was contemplating using the merino version for one of the sweaters on the new Knitty and for sure I’m treating myself to a skein of her Garnet wool laceweight to make the Adamas shawl from Knitpicks – a friend is making it with one of her colorways and I just loved the pattern in that yarn.

  2. Marianne Says:

    Wow! What pretty yarn. It looks like it is going to make a great sock.
    I just learned how to knit socks and now I am a little obsessed!

  3. Knitting Bandit Says:

    Thanks for your great review of the Lisa Souza sock yarn.. I’m trying to pick a colorway and the Lime and Violet is on my list. I was also trying to choose between the Sock! yarn or the New merino. You helped me narrow my choices.

Leave a Reply

