Everyday Creativity

In response to one of my recent posts, Melissa joked about being surprised EVERYONE didn’t knit every day. You know, she’s right — it IS like OCD.

I’ve been thinking about that ever since.  WHY don’t I knit every day?

It’s not a lack of projects. It’s not that I don’t love yarn. It’s not even a lack of time, as a general rule.

For me, it’s that there are too many OTHER fabulous and creative things to do. I can’t pick just one.

I knit. I spin. I dye. I crochet. I sew. I make hairsticks. And belts. And purses. And boxes. I do papercraft. I write. I edit. I alter. I deconstruct. I make collage assemblages. I make books. I make wings. I make dolls and tiaras and, sometimes, excuses.

*grin*

And I do this every night.

See, I don’t watch television. I haven’t had cable since 1995, when I moved out of my grandparents’ house and went away to college.  It’s not like I’ve been completely unexposed to television since then but it isn’t a part of my normal evening’s activities.

That… frees up a lot of time.

Seriously, I know a lot of people do STUFF while they watch television, but if it isn’t something I’ve seen a hundred times before, I tend to pay more attention to what is on tv than what is in my hands.

So, I come home, I turn on music or a movie I’ve watched 100+ times (The Lord of the Rings extended editions are a perennial favorite), and start making things. I make things almost every night.

Lately, I’ve been sewing a lot. It’s hard to get satisfactory pictures of the things that I’m sewing because I don’t have a tripod and my cat just isn’t a good photographer. Everything is shot from floor level and there’s almost always a whisker or two in frame.

Anyway. If I was just a knitter or just a sewer or just a paper arts person, I’d be better, I’m sure, at that one thing and a LOT more productive. But each process, for me, informs all the others.

Crochet and knitting really bounce off of each other in my head. They are so similar in so many ways, but really different in very fundamental ways. Ooooh, I’m so deep! They are the same but different! *snort* What I really mean is that I use them for different things — knitting produces wonderful drapey fabric but it doesn’t have the same BODY, to me, as crochet. Crochet is perfect for freeform three dimensional objects. I play with both crafts and use them depending on the needs of my project.

Color theory from painting and collage assembly comes to play when I am spinning and plying and dyeing. Texture moves from sewing to papercraft.  Detail work travels from bookbinding to altering clothing.

So, I don’t knit every day. But I create. And I think that’s important. Like, really important. When I’m not making SOMETHING, I start to feel stale. Working on a project opens a window and lets in the fresh air.

Sometimes I do wish I could watch Project Runway, though. *grin*

3 Responses to “Everyday Creativity”

  1. melissa Says:

    i’ll accept that excuse…..i mean reason! 😉

  2. Bev Says:

    I too have knitted, crocheted or stitched many an item to the background company of Lord of The Rings Trilogy extended edition. I have added Harry Potter years 1-4 to the mix as well.

  3. fiberfetish Says:

    I’ve only got the second one on DVD — now that you mention it, I think I need to fix that!

Leave a Reply

