Confession

I have flipped through Mason-Dixon Knitting. And I wanted to like it, really I did.

You know, it’s just EVERYWHERE in the blogworld.

And while there were some cute things in the book (I am, I admit, enamored of the rag balls), WTF is up with everyone knitting dishcloths?

Is is because they have been labelled “warshrags” (which is just unbearably kitschy)? I mean, I’m southern. My greatgrandmother called them warshrags in a completely unironic way. This just seems so contrived.

And knitted dishcloths? I’m not sure I buy into this idea anyway. I use a scrubby sponge that gets thrown out when it starts to get grungy. I realize this isn’t the most eco-friendly technique, but I also don’t see myself washing a dishcloth after every use, which is what it would take for me to not think the dishcloth was a vile, mold-ridden sop of moisture.

There’s a lot of dampness in the air here, though. Maybe it works for drier climates.

But, seriously. Knit them if you like. But don’t expect me to be impressed by your many, many large photos. It is, essentially, a gauge swatch.

Am I being harsh? Maybe I am. I don’t really like judging other people’s projects. Just… so many dishcloths! Argh!

3 Responses to “Confession”

  1. melissa Says:

    thanks for the compliment on annabelle!

    yeah, i don’t quite get the whole warshrag thing either.

  2. Woolly Wormhead Says:

    And there was me thinking I’d never find someone prepared to say WTF about dishrags! Thank heavens – they seem a waste of time to me.

  3. Nicole Says:

    I think they are fun to knit, as they are a project that has a fun pattern and yet is done quickly. However. That said, I couldn’t bring myself to knit them *for use as dishrags*, and so made a mini-blanket out of them instead. Sponges are much more likely to clean dishes at my house.

Leave a Reply

