11 stitches, 13 rows

That's my gauge to the inch.

I refuse to measure my legs on the grounds that it will make me cry.

In more pleasant news, my sock went from this:

to this:

over the weekend. Not too shabby.

I ripped out the heel a half-dozen times, which is only one or two times more than I ripped out the toe when I was starting this thing.

There's something about heels and toes. They have to be just right or it drives me nuts. I've learned to rip them back immediately instead of talking myself into leaving it because I'll eventually cave in and rip back anyway, taking all the progress I've made in the meantime along with me.

I played with reversing the positioning of the stripes and the checks — making the checks on the top of the foot, since they ARE more visually interesting. But I think that would be overkill. I want them to be a sudden happy surprise on the bottom of the foot.

Of course, now the problem is that I've knitted further than my design had progressed. I tried mimicking the narrow stripe on the toe, but I don't like it when the colors are reversed. The ankle stripes are not a bad IDEA, but I don't like them in this iteration.

Time to rip back some more.

Still, I like how the yellow heel is structured. It's a short-row heel, from Sensational Knitted Socks which, I think, might make the whole process out to be a lot more complicated than it really is. I've noticed that. I love this book, don't get me wrong. But the way the instructions are written seems to needlessly complicate things sometimes.

Maybe it's just me.

Here you can see both the unfortunate ankle stripes and the short-row heel:

The heel turned out beautifully the last time I did it. It took me a little while to get the hang of the wrapping of the stitches.

My concern is that, with no slip-stitch pattern on the heel, it's not going to wear very well. Before I knit much more, I need to think about whether or not to try some OTHER kind of heel. Because I am DEFINITELY pulling out those ankle stripes and trying something different and I might as well sort out the heel while I'm at it. I COULD, I think, combine slip-stitch patterning with the short rows. I'm not sure how well that would work with the wrapped stitch technique but it might be worth a try. Though I hate to rip back ANOTHER heel just on the idea that it might not wear well.

I mean, it's not like these are going to be every day socks.

Hrmn.

What to do, what to do.

One Response to “11 stitches, 13 rows”

  1. Anne Says:

    Verily, verily, your sock rocketh!

Leave a Reply

