Wood I, Should I?

I have an Ashford Kiwi spinning wheel. It’s small, and it’s definitely a starter wheel. I have a couple of kits that expand its capabilities, but I know that some day soonish I’ll buy something… MORE.

But in the meantime, I love my Kiwi. When it first arrived, I put it together in a frenzy of “OMG, must get this put together NOW!” Which means I never stained it or sealed it or anything like that.

That hasn’t been a problem. But everytime I spin, I look at the plain wood and the MDF of the wheel and I think about what I OUGHT to do. How I OUGHT to go get some wood stain and some varnish and make it all nice and polished and spinning wheelish.

The problem is that I rarely feel like doing what I OUGHT.

I’ve noticed I have this really rebellious streak. If I feel obligated to do something, there is nothing I want to do less than that thing. And, for some reason, I feel obligated to make my spinning wheel a piece of furniture.

Look, the Kiwi and its assorted bits and bobbles (and bobbins) cost me about $300. Yes, that’s still quite a lot of money to me. But does spending that money mean I have to make it look like a family heirloom of a spinning wheel? Does that really mean I’m required to make this thing look like something that came from my grandfather’s carpentry shop?

I THINK NOT!

To that end, once I’d dithered and waffled and whatnot, I started painting my bobbins. I want to pull together a more coherent theme for the wheel itself and I probably won’t be using paint markers (they are USEFUL but not over such large areas all at once), but the bobbins? They were fair game for color! For experimentation! And I love them. Though the black one is going to need another coat of paint marker. And maybe some sparkles…. The gold one turned out quite nice though.

Leave a Reply

