Not Just Knitting

Just to prove (to myself) that I do more than knit lately….

A few weeks ago I bought myself a dog comb. Minicombs are $70 a set, on the cheap end, after all. A dog comb seemed like a nice diy intermediate step until I can justify the expense. The days after I bought the dog comb, I bought a bunch of Angelina fiber, so the sparkle shall soon commence.

In the meantime, I used the comb to blend bright blue mohair with apple green merino. I dyed both of the fibers in the roving stage with… Easter egg dye. The result is a really beautiful, almost luminous fluff. I love spinning fluff. I love the way the different kinds of fiber create slubs and texture.

I love this yarn.

I mean, I dn't usually think my stuff is that great, but look at this color! I want to bathe in it.

There's 180 yards of this, fingering weight. I have no idea what I'll do with it. Maybe I should sell it. But right now, I just keep looking at it. And, yes, I do pet it from time to time.

I also went to an estate sale on Friday and managed to score and old (1962) biology book.

Not much to look at, is it? But the insides make it well-worth the $1 I spent.

 

Yep, 489 illustrations. Most of which are pen and ink drawings. So nice!

 

Just gorgeous, right?

Of course, there's also this awesome squid drawing. It looks… well, like something else, I think.

 

4 Responses to “Not Just Knitting”

  1. Anne Says:

    Ok, so as long as I’m not the only one who thinks it looks like something else…

    Hey,t hat yarn is friggin’ gorgeous. I’m just sayin’!

  2. fiberfetish Says:

    I promise, it is totally a squid!

    And thank you. I am so excited about how it turned out! And I have more of the rovings, so I can make another skein. I think I’ll do that before I decide what to do with this one, see how much yardage I can get.

  3. Stephanie Says:

    oh – that yarn is lovely – and the spinning is just perfect 🙂
    well done! And yeah, you should give the solar dying a try – I don’t know how well it will do with the “regular” non-superwash fibers…I’m still trying to find out temp required to set dye…

  4. fiberfetish Says:

    Stephanie,

    Thanks for your compliments on my spinning! I’ve been doing it for a couple of years now and… I love it so much.

    And if you find a perfect temperature for setting the dye, I can’t wait to read about it in your blog.

Leave a Reply

