The Changing of the Projects

I finished knitting on the shawl for my grandmother. It is well over 5 feet long (it's taller than me and I'm 5'3"), which is going to make blocking a challenge. Now I just have to weave in the ends.

Of course, when I say blocking is going to be a challenge, I don't mean for me. My limited floor space, my tendancy to collect piles of Stuff, and my cat who can't leave well enough alone…. All of those things combine to make blocking large objects on my own pretty near impossible.

So, tonight, I'll go BACK to the yarn shop, AGAIN, and hand this over to the woman who teaches there on Thursday nights. She runs a tidy little side business, blocking things for people. I hate to pay for what is a pretty simple process, but it's worth it. To me at least.

Blocking is so important, but, man alive, I do hate it.

When I get the shawl back, I'll take proper "finished object" photos.

In the meantime, I've already started another project. I'm making socks. But not just any socks. No, socks that button up the back. Socks with split toes, like tabi socks. Socks that echo the Victorian age in their prim and properness but are still fun.

Well, that's what I'm making if this turns out the way I imagine it.

One thing I've started doing, as I work on more projects requiring multiple balls of yarn, is taking photos of yarn bands. I don't keep a notebook, because I lose notebooks. But a picture, stored in a file on my computer, is worth every single one of a thousand words. This way I know the brand, the color id number, the dye lot, the care instructions, all without copious notes or scrambling through a stack of yarn bands trying to remember which one goes with what project.

Part of me really rebels against using patterns. I think this sock idea is born out of that desire to work work without a net. When I first learned to sew, my great-grandmother handed me a needle, some thread, and some scraps of fabric. I made clothes for my Barbie dolls and I learned first-hand the basics of garment construction. I've rarely used a pattern, in all of my sewing years.

But knitting…. I'm developing a BETTER understanding of how it functions, how the stitches all work together, but even though I've known how to knit for 20 years now, I still don't work without a pattern for more complex projects.

So, we'll see how this works out.

In the meantime, I take "artsy" photos of my knitting.

4 Responses to “The Changing of the Projects”

  1. Trista Says:

    What a beautiful color! I can’t wait to see the finished sock.

  2. fiberfetish Says:

    Thanks! I really fell in love with the color and had to get the poor yarn store owner to search in the back to find a second ball of it in an identical dye lot!

    It's going to take a little while…. I'm knitting these on size 1 needles. Because I'm a glutton for knitting punishment.

  3. Jessi Says:

    I wouldn’t feel bad about sending out for blocking. In fact, it makes me happyhappyhappy to know that this sort of person exists. I am not good at blocking.

    And such pretty blue yarn! Maybe you should publish the pattern if it works out.

  4. fiberfetish Says:

    It’s really kind of funny — I was reading a book about Orenburg lace shawls, and there’s mention of how some women in the villages would specialize in different things — and some of them specialized in blocking! It had never before occurred to me that someone other than myself might block my finished knitting.

    So, yeah. *grin*

    If it works, I’ll definitely write up the pattern here. And maybe submit it to Knitty.com…. I have such a knitting geek desire to one day have a pattern there. *grin* To that end, I am keeping track of what I am doing.

Leave a Reply

