Fiber Artist In Search Of Like-Minded Group

I used to run a Stitch 'n' Bitch that met every Monday. It was great, because there was a fairly regular group of people, and they did a lot of different fiberish things. We even had a Women's Studies class come visit us one night. It was, generally, a blast.

But then I started to resent the obligation of it — I've never been very good at sustained "you must be at this location at this time every single week" things. It's one reason I missed class so often in college. Rather than dump the whole thing, I handed it over to a couple of the regulars and things went smoothly for quite a while.

And then, they didn't. Some personal problems kept the new organizers from doing anything with the group and I a) didn't want to step on their toes and b) didn't want to reassume the obligation anyway. The group died.

It was fine for a while but in the past few weeks I have realized how much I missed working with fiber in a group. Most of the groups that meet around town are just knitters. There's a couple of groups of spinners, and they're nice people, but I haven't really clicked with any of them. There are a few more groups I'm trying out, because I am an optimist.

But then there's the knitting group I visited last night.

It's an open knitting session at a local yarn store. And it caters, honestly (and just like the other really nice yarn store in town), to a certain kind of conservative client. That's okay, though. Not every person in my life HAS to be a raging liberal with tattoos and piercings and whatnot.

But these women, while nice in their own way, are the embodiment of upper middle-class, white privilege. It astounded me to see it in action. I spent most of the night sitting alone, slightly apart from the crowded table, knitting in a rush and trying to internalize and understand their viewpoints. It's not just that they voted for Bush. Because while I didn't and I don't really understand that political course of action, I'm a live-and-let-live kind of woman. No, it was their sense of entitlement.

In a very real way, these women seem unable to grasp that other people lead very different lives.

Actual quote from the last night, from a woman who has been on so many cruises, she says, that she has lost count: "So, we stopped at Cosa Mesa… Costa Masa…. I don't know. Some podunk Third World country."

Ouch. In context, it was very apparent that she didn't understand why anyone would live that way. Because, you know, we all choose our circumstances. And amid talk of vacations to the Dominican Republic and how two piercings in one ear mean you're gay, it really sunk in that I could never really talk to these women about the things that go on in my life, about the people in my life, the struggles in my life and my world, in a way that would help them understand.

And so, I am left with a dilemma, in addition to a bad taste in my mouth regarding the Tuesday night knitting group. See, on one hand I KNOW that not all people get along. And that not getting along with everyone is perfectly fine. On the other hand, I kind of feel like I SHOULD like everyone involved in fiber arts, strictly because they are producing wonderful, handmade products.
Ridiculous, yes?

And so, perhaps a bit delayed, I have finally figured out that I don't have to like everyone involved in the fiber arts community. Huh. Seems I don't have a dilemma after all.

2 Responses to “Fiber Artist In Search Of Like-Minded Group”

  1. Jessi Says:

    I love that working with fiber unites people, but on the other hand, some people just won’t be united.

    Wanna set up a teleconference stitch ‘n’ bitch? i could get a webcam and everything.

  2. fiberfetish Says:

    I guess that’s the thing it has taken me a while to realize. For some reason it is just SO hard to admit I don’t like some people.

    Oh, man, that would ROCK. I wonder if there’s a way to actually organize something like that….

Leave a Reply

